New map

A screen shot of the West Virginia Department of Education's website shows the state's newly tweaked metrics map introducing an orange category, which had covered counties with 10.0 to 24.9 positive cases per 100,000 residents, split into two new categories: gold, covering those counties with 10 to 14.9 cases per 100,000, and orange, 15 to 24.9 per 100,000. The change left only Kanawha and Monroe counties in the orange and Monongalia in the red, unable to attend school in person.

CHARLESTON – The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) has posted the updated School Alert System map that includes the new gold category metric. As announced by Governor Jim Justice, counties in gold have 10 to 14.9 cases of COVID-19 infection per 100,000 people.

In the gold category, counties will be able to move to an in-person instructional model with restrictions including face coverings at all times for grades 3-12. Extracurricular activities are permitted and competitions may occur against schools within the same county as well as schools in other gold counties. Additionally, modifications to spectator requirements at extracurricular activities have been made.

As a part of this re-set, students from several counties that were deemed orange as of last Saturday’s (Sept. 12) School Alert Map update, are now gold and (were allowed), at the discretion of their local boards of education, to return to in-person instruction Wednesday, Sept. 16. They may also resume activities described above and outlined at These county boards of education may also decide to wait and make decisions based on the Saturday, Sept. 19 School Alert System map update. (No decision had been made in Fayette County at press time on Tuesday.)

• Red (Substantial Community Transmission): Counties in red include Monongalia.

• Orange (Heightened Community Transmission): Counties in orange include Kanawha and Monroe.

• Gold (Elevated Community Transmission): Counties in gold include Boone, Fayette, Logan, Mingo and Putnam.

• Yellow (Increased Community Transmission): Counties in yellow include Berkeley, Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Grant, Greenbrier, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Lincoln, McDowell, Mercer, Ohio, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur and Wayne.

• Green (Minimal Community Transmission): Counties in green include Barbour, Braxton, Gilmer, Hardy, Hampshire, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Mineral, Morgan, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pleasants, Preston, Randolph, Ritchie, Tyler, Webster, Wetzel, Wood, Wirt and Wyoming.

The next School Alert System map update is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 19 at 5 p.m.

All schools, both public and private, are expected to adhere to the WVDE School Alert System map to guide in-person instruction and extracurricular activities.

For information about the data that guides the color-coded map or the Data Review Panel, please contact the DHHR at

For additional details, contact WVDE Director of Communications Christy Day at, 304-558-2699 (office).

For general information about COVID-19, please visit or

— WV Department of Education

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you