Voters in five Fayette County municipalities — Fayetteville, Gauley Bridge, Meadow Bridge, Oak Hill and Pax — cast votes Tuesday as their tangible method of directing the quintet of hamlets in the ways they want them to go.

Voters in Fayetteville apparently are happy with the direction of their town — not a single incumbent lost his or her bid for re-election.

Mayor Jim Akers will serve another four years in that position, as his 354 votes fended off challenges from Russell McClung and write-in Jim Murdock. Ironically, Murdock finished far ahead of McClung, who was on the ballot, 169 to 71.

Recorder Charlie Jones garnered 347 votes to Porter Jarrard’s 224 and Desiree Boatwright’s 37.

Allen Ballard, Nancy McKown, Anthony Salvatore, Denise Scalph and Tom Woodrum all successfully held on to their positions on city council against electoral attempts by Chris Anthony, Katie Gleasman, Susan Jones, Bill Lane and John Petretich.

- - -

In Gauley Bridge, Mayor Damon Runyon and Recorder Stephanie Fout both swept to re-election, according to unofficial results posted at Town Hall. Fout, who was running unopposed, tallied 124 votes, and Runyon collected 104 votes to 37 for Paul Hamilton and 9 for Andy Guthrie.

Incumbent council members Byron Winebrenner (109), Tom Morgan (109), and Roy Taylor (108) led balloting for the town’s five council seats. They will be joined by new members Mary G. Morris Scott (102) and Larry Begley (92). Incumbents Calvin Trent and Ruby Winebrenner, one of the charter members of the town council when it was formed in 1978, chose not to seek re-election.

Gauley Bridge voters turned down by an 88-61 tally a proposition to extend the terms of office holders from two to four years.

- - -

Voters in Meadow Bridge decided it was time for change in the mayor’s office as they elected challenger Tim Killen to replace incumbent Angela McClung-Gilkerson, according to results provided by Recorder Kay Harless. Killen bested McClung-Gilkerson by 21 votes, 58 to 37. Stanley Harrah, another challenger, trailed with 14 votes.

Harless held on to her position as recorder, fending off a challenge from Heather Hanshew Gainer, with 66 votes to Gainer’s 45.

City council will consist of incumbents Edward Toler and Robert Vandall, as well as new faces John Harless, Stacie Richmond and Hope White. Councilman Rick Smith was the only election-seeking incumbent booted off city council.

A ballot initiative to increase the terms for Meadow Bridge’s elected officials from two years to four failed miserably, with 67 voting against the measure and only 34 supporting it.

Harless described voter turnout as excellent, with 131 regular ballots and 18 provisional votes cast out of 163 registered voters. The status of the 18 provisional ballots was to be decided on Friday, she said.

- - -

Bill Hannabass was unopposed in his bid to become mayor of Oak Hill. The councilman garnered 368 votes to replace the retiring Barbara Hickman, city treasurer Damita Johnson said.

Anna Lou Holt, an incumbent member of city council, will replace Hannabass in his current position. She took in 217 votes to 111 for Gary Perry and 83 for Jesse Bane III.

In Oak Hill’s newly configured ward system, Fred Dickinson, Diana Janney and Jon Lopez will comprise Ward I. The trio received 103, 241 and 165 votes, respectively. Other contenders in that ward included Barry Blackburn, Jesse Bibb, incumbent John Dixon and Darrell Willshire.

Ward II will be made up of incumbents Jeff Atha, Bruce Coleman and Dianna Smallwood. They were the only three candidates to choose from in that ward. Smallwood enjoyed 56 votes, Coleman had 51 and Atha claimed 45.

Johnson described voter turnout as just over half the usual for Oak Hill. Of 4,570 registered voters, 9 percent came out and cast ballots, she said.

- - -

In Pax, Mayor Peggy Helm-Sasser was re-elected by a landslide margin over her write-in opponent, former Mayor Shirley Roberts. Helm-Sasser laid claim to 40 votes, while 14 citizens jotted Roberts’ name down as their choice.

Rachel Ramsey, herself a write-in candidate, took in 27 votes as the lone option for recorder, and incumbent city council members Bobby Dale Holley, Mark Holley, Sandra Lilly and Bill Sasser captured four of the five council seats with 41, 42, 38 and 35 votes respectively.

Helm-Sasser explained that city council will appoint a fifth member when its finds someone who can fill the post.

- - -

In Glasgow last Tuesday, Mayor Charles “Chuck” Armstrong was re-elected. Armstrong, who ran unopposed, received 99 votes.

According to The Charleston Gazette, Danny Dalton won a seat on city council, receiving the most votes with 97. Also capturing seats were: David Persinger, 82; Larry Simmons, 94; Sheena Totten, 62; and Eddie O’Brien, 85. Paul Naylor received 35 votes and Todd Carroll had 27.

City recorder Lonnie Carpenter, who also was unopposed, got 102 votes.

- - -

Cedar Grove voters failed to pass an amendment to the town’s ordinances that would have prohibited the opening of a bar within the town limits.

There were 210 votes against the measure and 152 for it, Pastor Mike Lewis, who has been a strong proponent of the measure, told The Gazette.

In city election voting, James Hudnall claimed the mayor’s race with 210 votes. Lewis received 80 votes as a write-in candidate, and Donna Gagich got 74 votes.

Carolyn Bennett ran unopposed for city recorder and Bill Gray was unopposed for town judge.

Incumbents Clayton L. Young Jr., Kent Stanley and James Blankenship won re-election to town council. Also earning council seats were Linda Richmond and Sharon Hemmings, Lewis said.

— E-mail:

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you