The girls high school basketball season tips off this week around the state.

The Valley Greyhound girls are slated to begin their regular season tonight at Charmco against Greenbrier West. The first VHS home contest is Thursday, Dec. 4 at 7 p.m. against Cross Lanes Christian. The Greyhound girls then host Fayetteville at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 10.

The Riverside girls begin their campaign by hosting Oak Hill at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 9.

• • •

Following is a list of boys basketball scrimmage information available to the Herald:

• Wednesday, Dec. 3 — Fayetteville at Summers County; Meadow Bridge at James Monroe

• Friday, Dec. 5 — Midland Trail at Buckhannon-Upshur, 6 p.m.

• Saturday, Dec. 6 — Tygarts Valley at Meadow Bridge, noon

• Monday, Dec. 8 — Summers County at Midland Trail, 6 p.m.

• Wednesday, Dec. 10 — Riverside at Valley, 3 p.m.

The Greyhound boys will open the regular season on Monday, Dec. 15 at Fayetteville. The first home game is a 3 p.m. matchup with Pendleton County on Saturday, Dec. 20.

The Riverside boys begin the regular season by hosting St. Albans at 7 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 12.

— Steve Keenan

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you